A Sordid Affair

October 29, 2008 at 12:14 am (Uncategorized)

The only adjective I am satisfied using when discussing my incredible ability to procrastinate is “stunning.”  I have a stunning ability to ignore reality (according to Shannon, I’m an “avoider.”  Truer words were never spoken, my friend).

Right now, I’m pretending I’m don’t have a presentation in Steve’s class tomorrow, and if I did, I would certainly be at least halfway finished.  Or not.  I said to myself, “how did I let this happen?  I can’t believe it!,”  however, after reflection, I’m realizing that, in fact, I would be more incredulous had this unfolded any other way.  The presentation is on Galileo Galilei and the Church.  A wildly complicated issue.  Largely, the problem stems from the overwhelming amount of information gathered on the subject.   It doesn’t help that our class watched a Nova documentary on the exact same thing.  I also have not given a thought to the essay proposal due last Thursday.

So I worked my first “shift” at McDonald’s today.  It really and truly is not that bad.  The call centre was infinitely worse (though that’s another issue in itself, because if the call centre wasn’t so horrendous I might not have done Explore).  It’s fairly easy work, and my co-workers are hilarious.  Of course, there is always grumbling about the manager, but that’s to be expected.  I happen to think Steve (his name is Steve.  How hilarious is that?  There is a glut of Steves in my life right now) is a nice guy.  Certainly one’s opinion of others is something that must be formed for oneself.  At this point, he’s been nice to me.  So there you go.  But yeah, the people are really great.  It’s nice to think I’ll have some cash in my (sort of) hands in the coming weeks.  Now I can buy shoes!  (I feel like Oliver Twist.  No joke.)  I made an ice cream cone really well.  Yup.

I keep saying to myself that, as I have arrived at this point in my life prayerfully, I’m supposed to be working here for a reason.  It’s not about taking pride in worldly things anyway.  I will shy away from spirituality here, though.  I do fancy myself a religious person, but I’ve yet to find a blog (granted, I’ve never looked) where one can discuss their religious views and not sound like a total tool.  So I will let that wait for a more enlightened day.

Back to (or, getting started on) Galileo.  At this point I don’t have a lot of sympathy for him.  Prudence is a virtue, I think.

“And the sun stood still, and the moon stayed, until the people had avenged themselves upon their enemies.  Is not this written in the book of Ja’sher?  So the sun stood still in the midst of heaven, and hasted not to go down about a whole day.”

-Joshua 10:13

Leave a Reply

